EU tax haven blacklist updated — February 2020

The European Union’s list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions has been amended.

On February 18, 2020, the Council adopted revised conclusions on the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.

The following jurisdictions were deemed to be non-cooperative tax jurisdictions:

  • Cayman Islands;
  • Palau;
  • Panama;
  • Seychelles.

One of the reasons for blacklisting is failure to implement tax reforms to which these jurisdictions committed to.

European Union tax haven blacklist includes:

  • American Samoa
  • Cayman Islands
  • Fiji
  • Guam
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Seychelles
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Vanuatu

Adopted for the first time in late 2017, the list is a result of a worldwide screening of tax systems and their adherence to transparency, fair tax competition and BEPS (Base Erosion and Profit Shifting Standards) implementation. Roughly 70 third country jurisdictions are under scrutiny.

Since 2017, 49 countries have implemented the necessary tax reforms to comply with the European Union’s criteria.

This list is merely indicative for the purposes of the application of tax rules in Portugal.

To know more about the Portuguese tax haven blacklist, read more here.

This publication or document contains general information and is not intended to be comprehensive nor to provide legal or tax advice or services. It should not be acted on or relied upon or used as a basis for any decision or action that may affect you or your business. Professional legal advice should be requested for specific cases. We do not undertake any continuing obligation to advise on future legal amendments, or of the impact on the conclusions herein. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. The contents of this publication or document may not be reproduced, in whole or in part, without the express consent of GFDL.

GFDL is an international law firm based in Lisbon. We advise corporations and individuals with complex needs and innovative projects.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store